Helsinki, Finland – Turkey has restated its opposition to Finland and Sweden joining NATO. Turkey sees the two Nordic nations’ willingness to host Kurdish PKK/YPG terrorist organization. Without the support of all Nato members, Sweden and Finland cannot join the military alliance.

Turkey opposes the NATO membership application of Finland and Sweden, the two northern countries that position themselves as the safe harbors of the Kurdish PKK/YPG terrorist organization. Meanwhile, Finland and Sweden have not yet taken any concrete steps to address Turkey’s security concerns.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

NATO, in its full name, is an international military alliance of the “North Atlantic Treaty Organization“. It was founded on April 4, 1949, based on the North Atlantic Treaty signed by 12 countries. More than 17 countries have joined over the years.

The 12 founding member countries of NATO are Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

NATO member states have a common defense mechanism against an attack from any external force. The center of the association is located in Brussels, the capital of Belgium.

While 20 countries are part of NATO’s “Partnership for Peace” initiative, 15 other countries take part in ongoing institutionalized dialogue programs.

The total military spending of NATO members is more than 70% of the defense spending in the world. The members’ defense spending goal is 2% of the Gross Domestic Product.