Ankara, Turkey – International Convention on Maritime Search and Rescue of 1979 (Hamburg Convention) stipulates that “each search and rescue region shall be established by agreement among Parties concerned”.

Despite the continuous efforts of Turkey to conclude an agreement with Greece in accordance with Hamburg Convention, search and rescue regions in the Aegean are yet to be delimited. Consequently, the two countries have unilaterally declared their respective search and rescue regions and notified the International Maritime Organization.

Turkey continues to provide effective Search and Rescue services in its declared Search and Rescue Region, including the distribution of distress alert data within the Cospas-Sarsat system.