Istanbul, Turkey – The Turkic Council, officially the Organization of Turkic States, is an international organization comprising some of the Turkic countries consisting of Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkey, and Uzbekistan. It is an intergovernmental organization whose overarching aim is promoting comprehensive cooperation among Turkic-speaking states. It was founded on October 3, 2009 in Nakhchivan. The idea of setting up this cooperative council was first put forward by Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev in 2006.

The General Secretariat is in Istanbul. Turkmenistan is currently not an official member of the council due to its neutral status. However, by default of its Turkic heritage, it is a possible future member of the council. Turkmenistan received the observer status at the 8th summit in Istanbul.

The organization was established on October 3, 2009 by the Nakhchivan Agreement signed among Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Turkey. According to Halil Akıncı, the founding Secretary-General of the organization the “Turkic Council has become the first voluntary alliance of Turkic states in history”.

In 2012, the flag of the Turkic Council was adopted.

On April 30, 2018, it was announced that Uzbekistan would join the Turkic Council and attend the upcoming summit of the organisation in Bishkek. It formally applied for membership on September 12, 2019.

Since late 2018, Hungary has been an observer and may request full membership. In 2020, Ukrainian Deputy Foreign Minister Emine Ceppar stated Ukraine wanted to be an observer.

On May 3, 2021, Afghanistan officially applied for observer status at the Turkic Council.