Istanbul, Turkey – The newly established Faculty of Law and Faculty of Communication at Bogazici University will contribute significantly to the improvement of research and development activities and performance. Bogazici University has eight faculties and colleges at the undergraduate level along with six graduate-level institutes.

Commenting on the establishment of the two new faculties, Rector Prof. Dr. Melih Bulu shared on Twitter: “I believe that the Faculties of Communication and Law, established with the signature of our President, will add different perspectives and riches to Bogazici University. After that, we will advance the functioning of the process with our relevant academic boards. Good for our university and our country.”

However, the establishment of the Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, and Faculty of Health Sciences at Bogazici University is expected as soon as possible. This is also considered as an urgent need to tackle with the health research and services for humanity.

Rector Prof. Dr. Melih Bulu is goaling to significantly improve the research and development performance of Bogazici University and to contribute to the National Research and Technology program. Indeed, Turkey has already become a research and innovation center in the region. It is considered that the research conducted at Bogazici University will improve Turkey’s state-of-the-art technology development goals.

CWUR’s Research Performance Rankings of Bogazici University are scoring higher in 2020-2021; 2019-2020 and 2018-2019. In 2020-2021 CWUR rankings Bogazici University gets 4th National Rank and 645th World Rank in the listing. The comparative rankings are given as follows in the Table:

CWUR’s Top 10 Turkish University Rankings

Bogazici University sets its Vision and Mission as circulated on the web site:


Bogazici University’s vision is to be a leading institution of higher education, one that shapes the future through being a pioneer in education, teaching, and research. The primary tenets of our vision are to

Enrich the education and teaching experiences with innovative and creative approaches;
Strengthen the culture of science, research, creativity, and innovation to become one of the leading research universities in the world; and to
Contribute to shaping a better future through our academic, scientific, and cultural activities.


Bogazici University’s mission is to educate individuals who embrace it’s institutional values, who are able to think both creatively and critically, who are independent and egalitarian, who appreciate ethical values, who respect nature and are aware of environmental issues, who are rooted in the local and open to the global, and who can, with their self-confidence and scholarly, social and cultural foundations, successfully take on leadership positions anywhere in the world.

Bogazici University’s mission also encompasses producing universal thought, science, and technology in service of humanity, and playing a pioneering role in encouraging the spread of science, culture, and the arts throughout society.

Undergraduate Faculties and Schools

Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Communication
School of Applied Disciplines
School of Foreign Languages

Graduate Institutes

Atatürk Institute For Modern Turkish History
Institute of Biomedical Engineering
Institute of Environmental Sciences
Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute
Institute of Graduate Studies in Science and Engineering
Institute for Graduate Studies in Social Sciences

Bogazici University was officially established on September 10, 1971, and Rectors of Bogazici University are:

1- Prof. Dr. Aptullah Kuran (1971-1979)
2- Prof. Dr. Semih Tezcan (1979-1982)
3- Prof. Dr. Ergun Togrol (1982-1992)
4- Prof. Dr. Ustun Erguder (1992-2000)
5- Prof. Dr. Sabih Tansal (2000-2004)
6- Prof. Dr. Ayse Soysal (2004-2008)
7- Prof. Dr. Kadri Ozcaldiran (2008-2012)
8- Prof. Dr. Gulay Barbarosoglu (2012- 2016)
9- Prof. Dr. Mehmed Özkan (2016-2021)
10- Prof. Dr. Melih Bulu (2021- )